No Matches Live.

  • IND in NZ, 5 T20I Series, 2020 - 3rd T20I - Live Matches
  • T20 Match Ended
India tied with New Zealand (India win Super Over by 2 wickets)
MOM : Rohit Sharma

Series Status : India lead the 5 T20I series 3-0

Highlights-2nd Innings

  • New Zealand 151/3 in 16.6 overs
  • K Williamson 11th T20I fifty: 50 runs in 28 balls (4x4) (3x6)
  • New Zealand 100/3 in 12.4 overs
  • M Santner dropped on 8 by R Jadeja in 9.3 overs
  • Mandatory Power play (1-6): New Zealand 51/1
  • New Zealand 51/1 in 5.5 overs
  • M Guptill dropped on 22 by V Kohli in 4.3 overs

Highlights-1st Innings

  • Innings Break: India 179/5 in 20.0 overs
  • R Jadeja dropped on 2 by M Santner in 19.4 overs
  • India 150/4 in 17.5 overs
  • India 100/3 in 12.1 overs
  • Mandatory Power play (1-6): India 69/0
  • R Sharma 20th T20I fifty: 50 runs in 23 balls (5x4) (3x6)
  • 1st wkt Partnership: 55 off 33 balls between R Sharma (36) and KL Rahul (19)
  • India 55/0 in 5.3 overs

The series started on a competitive note! It promised a lot. We all thought that New Zealand would turn up and challenge the dominance of India. In the first match, the Kiwi batsmen put the Indian bowlers to the sword, however, their own bowlers didn't step up entirely which meant the Black Caps went behind in the 5-match series. Everyone anticipated a crunch game in round 2 at Eden Park. Toss was touted to be a big factor but Kane Williamson's decision to bat first raised a few eyebrows. The New Zealand skipper guessed it right that the used surface will be on the slower side and hence chasing will be difficult. Perhaps he forgot to pass on the same message to his boys. Their batting approach wasn't reckless but they aimed too high. The Black Caps tried to emulate the performance of the first match but completely ignored the conditions. A bad assessment of the pitch cost them. Also, one cannot undermine the way the Indian bowlers bounced back. There was more energy in the field and Virat Kohli was proactive with his fielding placements. Altogether, the Men in Blue showed and proved why they are one of the top teams going around, if not the top. The action shifts from a very small stadium in Auckland to a small stadium in Hamilton. The boundaries again will be on the shorter side and we once more dare to expect a high-scoring match. Regarding the playing XI, India won't like to tinker much as they will plan to take an unassailable lead first and then give the fringe players a chance. As far as the Kiwis are concerned, they might just include Scott Kuggeleijn and Daryl Mitchell to freshen up their batting and bowling plans. These two teams have met once at the Seddon Park and it ended up being a high-scoring humdinger where the Black Caps edged out India by just 4 runs. Let's hope for something similar.

NZ : Batting

Batsmen R B 4S 6S SR
Martin Guptill - c sub b Shardul Thakur 312123147.62
Colin Munro - st KL Rahul b Ravindra Jadeja 14162087.50
Kane Williamson (C) - c KL Rahul b Mohammed Shami 954886197.92
Mitchell Santner - b Yuzvendra Chahal 9111081.82
Colin de Grandhomme - c Shivam Dube b Shardul Thakur 5120041.67
Ross Taylor - b Mohammed Shami 171011170.00
Tim Seifert (W) - not out 02000.00
Scott Kuggeleijn -----
Tim Southee -----
Ish Sodhi -----
Hamish Bennett -----
Extras(w 0, b 6, lb 2, p 0, nb 0) 8
Total (6 wkts, 20.0 ovs) 179

Fall of wickets

+Martin Guptill47 (5.4)
+Colin Munro52 (6.2)
+Mitchell Santner88 (10.4)
+Colin de Grandhomme137 (16)
+Kane Williamson178 (19.3)
+Ross Taylor179 (20)

IND : bowling

+Shardul Thakur302127.00
+Mohammed Shami403228.00
+Jasprit Bumrah4045011.25
+Yuzvendra Chahal403619.00
+Ravindra Jadeja402315.75
+Shivam Dube1014014.00

IND : Batting

Batsmen R B 4S 6S SR
Rohit Sharma - c Tim Southee b Hamish Bennett 654063162.50
KL Rahul (W) - c Colin Munro b Colin de Grandhomme 271921142.11
Shivam Dube - c Ish Sodhi b Hamish Bennett 370042.86
Virat Kohli (C) - c Tim Southee b Hamish Bennett 382721140.74
Shreyas Iyer - st Tim Seifert b Mitchell Santner 171601106.25
Manish Pandey - not out 14611233.33
Ravindra Jadeja - not out 10501200.00
Shardul Thakur -----
Mohammed Shami -----
Yuzvendra Chahal -----
Jasprit Bumrah -----
Extras(w 2, b 1, lb 2, p 0, nb 0) 5
Total (5 wkts, 20.0 ovs) 179

Fall of wickets

+KL Rahul89 (9)
+Rohit Sharma94 (10.4)
+Shivam Dube96 (11)
+Shreyas Iyer142 (17)
+Virat Kohli160 (18.5)

NZ : bowling

+Tim Southee403909.75
+Hamish Bennett4054313.50
+Scott Kuggeleijn201005.00
+Mitchell Santner403719.25
+Ish Sodhi402305.75
+Colin de Grandhomme201316.50

Match Teams

New Zealand
  • Martin Guptill
  • Colin Munro
  • Kane Williamson (C)
  • Colin de Grandhomme
  • Ross Taylor
  • Tim Seifert (W)
  • Mitchell Santner
  • Scott Kuggeleijn
  • Tim Southee
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Hamish Bennett
  • Rohit Sharma
  • KL Rahul (W)
  • Virat Kohli (C)
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Shivam Dube
  • Manish Pandey
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Shardul Thakur
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Jasprit Bumrah

Match Info

  • Toss :New Zealand, who chose to field
  • Venue :Seddon Park, Hamilton
  • Umpires :Shaun Haig (NZ),Chris Brown (NZ) and Kim Cotton (NZ)
  • Match Referee :Chris Broad (ENG)
  • Match Date :Wed 3rd February 2021

(compare analysis)